Saturday July 13, 2024

American Flag US Federal Holidays 2018

There are 10 federal holidays celebrated each year in the United States. Federal holidays that fall on Saturday are celebrated on the preceding Friday and federal holidays that fall on Sunday will be celebrated on the following Monday.

Date Federal Holiday # Days
Monday, January 1New Years Day 2018-2385
Monday, January 15Martin Luther King Day 2018-2371
Monday, February 19Presidents Day 2018 *-2336
Monday, May 28Memorial Day 2018-2238
Wednesday, July 4Independence Day 2018-2201
Monday, September 3Labor Day 2018-2140
Monday, October 8Columbus Day 2018 **-2105
Sunday, November 11Veterans Day 2018-2071
Monday, November 12Veterans Day 2018 (observed)-2070
Thursday, November 22Thanksgiving 2018-2060
Tuesday, December 25Christmas Day 2018-2027

The federal holidays listed above are designated by the United States Congress in Title V of the United States Code (5 U.S.C. 6103). Congress has the authority to designate holidays for government (federal) institutions so many other state and private institutions like businesses, banks, schools, and post offices have followed along and have included federal holidays as paid days off for their workers. Many state and local governments will have additional holidays off for their workers depending on their own local culture and history. The first official federal holidays began back on June 28th 1870 when congress wanted to correspond to state holidays that were in place and made federal holidays for federal employees located in the District of Columbia law. Later in 1885 the first four Federal Holidays (New Year's Day, Independence Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day) where extended to all federal employees in the country.

* Presidents Day also known as Washingtons Birthday is celebrated by the following states: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming.

** Columbus Day is celebrated by the following states: Alabama, Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia.

Reference: Federal Holidays for 2018, for the United States official holiday schedule.