Friday December 09, 2022

American Flag US Federal Holidays 2017

There are 10 federal holidays celebrated each year in the United States. Federal holidays that fall on Saturday are celebrated on the preceding Friday and federal holidays that fall on Sunday will be celebrated on the following Monday.

Date Federal Holiday # Days
Sunday, January 1New Years Day 2017-2168
Monday, January 2New Years Day 2017 (observed)-2167
Monday, January 16Martin Luther King Day 2017-2153
Monday, February 20Presidents Day 2017 *-2118
Monday, May 29Memorial Day 2017-2020
Tuesday, July 4Independence Day 2017-1984
Monday, September 4Labor Day 2017-1922
Monday, October 9Columbus Day 2017 **-1887
Friday, November 10Veterans Day 2017 (observed)-1855
Saturday, November 11Veterans Day 2017-1854
Thursday, November 23Thanksgiving 2017-1842
Monday, December 25Christmas Day 2017-1810

The federal holidays listed above are designated by the United States Congress in Title V of the United States Code (5 U.S.C. 6103). Congress has the authority to designate holidays for government (federal) institutions so many other state and private institutions like businesses, banks, schools, and post offices have followed along and have included federal holidays as paid days off for their workers. Many state and local governments will have additional holidays off for their workers depending on their own local culture and history. The first official federal holidays began back on June 28th 1870 when congress wanted to correspond to state holidays that were in place and made federal holidays for federal employees located in the District of Columbia law. Later in 1885 the first four Federal Holidays (New Year's Day, Independence Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day) where extended to all federal employees in the country.

* Presidents Day also known as Washingtons Birthday is celebrated by the following states: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming.

** Columbus Day is celebrated by the following states: Alabama, Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia.