Monday May 20, 2024

American Flag US Federal Holidays 2022

There are 11 federal holidays celebrated each year in the United States. Federal holidays that fall on Saturday are celebrated on the preceding Friday and federal holidays that fall on Sunday will be celebrated on the following Monday.

Date Federal Holiday # Days
Saturday, January 1New Years Day 2022-870
Monday, January 17Martin Luther King Day 2022-854
Monday, February 21Presidents Day 2022 *-819
Monday, May 30Memorial Day 2022-721
Sunday, June 19Juneteenth 2022-701
Monday, June 20Juneteenth 2022 (observed)-702
Monday, July 4Independence Day 2022-686
Monday, September 5Labor Day 2022-623
Monday, October 10Columbus Day 2022 **-588
Friday, November 11Veterans Day 2022-556
Thursday, November 24Thanksgiving 2022-543
Sunday, December 25Christmas Day 2022-512
Monday, December 26Christmas Day 2022 (observed)-511

The federal holidays listed above are designated by the United States Congress in Title V of the United States Code (5 U.S.C. 6103). Congress has the authority to designate holidays for government (federal) institutions so many other state and private institutions like businesses, banks, schools, and post offices have followed along and have included federal holidays as paid days off for their workers. Many state and local governments will have additional holidays off for their workers depending on their own local culture and history. The first official federal holidays began back on June 28th 1870 when congress wanted to correspond to state holidays that were in place and made federal holidays for federal employees located in the District of Columbia law. Later in 1885 the first four Federal Holidays (New Year's Day, Independence Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day) where extended to all federal employees in the country.

* Presidents Day also known as Washingtons Birthday is celebrated by the following states: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming.

** Columbus Day is celebrated by the following states: Alabama, Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia.

Reference: Federal Holidays for 2022, for the United States official holiday schedule.