Monday March 27, 2023

American Flag US Federal Holidays 2021

There are 11 federal holidays celebrated each year in the United States. Federal holidays that fall on Saturday are celebrated on the preceding Friday and federal holidays that fall on Sunday will be celebrated on the following Monday.

Date Federal Holiday # Days
Friday, January 1New Years Day 2021-815
Monday, January 18Martin Luther King Day 2021-798
Monday, February 15Presidents Day 2021 *-770
Monday, May 31Memorial Day 2021-665
Friday, June 18Juneteenth 2021 (observed)-647
Saturday, June 19Juneteenth 2021-646
Sunday, July 4Independence Day 2021-631
Monday, July 5Independence Day 2021 (observed)-630
Monday, September 6Labor Day 2021-567
Monday, October 11Columbus Day 2021 **-532
Thursday, November 11Veterans Day 2021-501
Thursday, November 25Thanksgiving 2021-487
Friday, December 24Christmas Day 2021 (observed)-458
Saturday, December 25Christmas Day 2021-457
Friday, December 31New Year's Day 2022 (observed)-451

The federal holidays listed above are designated by the United States Congress in Title V of the United States Code (5 U.S.C. 6103). Congress has the authority to designate holidays for government (federal) institutions so many other state and private institutions like businesses, banks, schools, and post offices have followed along and have included federal holidays as paid days off for their workers. Many state and local governments will have additional holidays off for their workers depending on their own local culture and history. The first official federal holidays began back on June 28th 1870 when congress wanted to correspond to state holidays that were in place and made federal holidays for federal employees located in the District of Columbia law. Later in 1885 the first four Federal Holidays (New Year's Day, Independence Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day) where extended to all federal employees in the country.

* Presidents Day also known as Washingtons Birthday is celebrated by the following states: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming.

** Columbus Day is celebrated by the following states: Alabama, Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia.

Reference: Federal Holidays for 2021, for the United States official holiday schedule.